World Vision International

The Peace Prize

What is the Peace Prize?

The purpose of the World Vision International Peace Prize is to bring hidden stories of courage and excellence for peace to the global stage.

The Peacemaking Award honours an individual who takes risks and excels in the work of conflict resolution, either in bringing parties together to resolve a conflict or being a catalyst who engages peacemakers, mediators and people of moral authority into a peace process.

The Peacebuilding Award recognises an agency or organisation that excels at integrating peacebuilding into relief, development or advocacy and that mobilises communities to build durable peace.

Each organisation or individual winner will receive a monetary award ($5,000), a physical trophy, and a press event.

History of the Prize

The World Vision International Peace Prize is given annually in honour and memory of Steve Williams (1951-2007), former World Vision United Kingdom Senior Policy Advisor on Peace and Conflict. Steve's advocacy for peace and justice, and for children as peacebuilders, distinguished Steve in the global peacebuilding community.

The Peace Prize officially launched on the International Day of Peace, September 21, 2008. Past winners have included: Mary Ann Arnado (Philippines), Kosovo Kids for Peace, World Vision Rwanda, Wi'am Palestine Conflict Resolution Center, Rubina Feroze Bhatti (Pakistan), PATRIR (Romania), and Archbishop John Baptist Odama (Uganda).

Public comments are closed for the six short-listed 2014 nominees:


  • Evidence of mobilising children, youth and/or women
  • Evidence that work is built on context and conflict analysis
  • Evidence of engagement with policy and advocacy toward peace
  • Evidence of building bridges between different groups to work toward conflict resolution
  • Evidence of taking risks for durable peace
  • Evidence of mobilising communities to build durable peace
  • Ability to recognise and draw from communal and national capabilities/resources
  • Influence and scope of impact beyond local level
  • Ability to work with partners
  • Creativity and innovation
  • Strong reputation and references 

Overview of Selection Process

World Vision posts a shortlist of finalists who best meet the criteria for public commenting at: The public views and comments over one month in May. The International Awards Committee reviews the finalists against the criteria and decides on a winner. Decisions of the Committee are final. Recipients and non-recipients are notified but the announcement does not become public until the International Day of Peace, September 21st, when the winners are honoured in country.

Follow @WVPeacePrize for more information.

Twitter Feed